Published on August 23rd, 2014 | by Edelle Henry


U14 Hurlers win the T Mackle Shield


Playing with a strong breeze in the first half, Lavey got off to a fine start. Fintan Bradley was ever reliable from the placed ball with Ryan Mulholland also impressive up front; the same player was rewarded for his efforts when he scored a great point from the left wing. Lavey were solid in defence, James Crawford playing the captains role from the no. 6 position and giving a demonstration of catching with full back Eoghan Laverty also putting in a great display. The fast 4G surface at Owenbeg suited the smaller, quick Lavey players and this was illustrated by the goal which came at the end of the half. A low ball was played into the corner where it was collected by full forward Conor Mullan. Coner turned and played a pin point pass to half forward Ryan Mulholland who slotted the ball to the back of the net. Half time score Lavey 1.5 Slaughtneil 0.2.


Slaughtneil looked to pull back the scoreline as they piled on the pressure early in the second half. They had a few opportunities to bridge the gap including a penalty which resulted in a point, and a number of other attacks. However a relisant Lavey defence and a string of fine saves from goalkeeper Owen Mulholland kept Lavey in the ascendancy until the final whistle. A late Enda Downey point sealed the victory for the Erins Own boys which lead to James Crawford taking home the T Mackle Shield.

Final Score Lavey 1-6 Slaughtneil 0-4

Team Manager Johnny McGarvey was delighted with the victory; “Great effort from our U14 hurlers all year, players reward for their efforts with victory in shield today, well done lads.”

Team: Owen Mulholland, Oran Melaugh, Owen Laverty, Joe Duggan, Neil O’Kane, James Crawford, Ryan Ward, Garroid Doherty, Fintan Bradley (0-4), Oran Downey, Ryan Mulholland (1-1), Enda Downey (0-1), Ryan McGill, Conor Mullan, PJ McAleese. Subs used; Cormac Collins, Calum Murray, Cathair Purvis, Adrian McMullan, Jarlath Hughes.






About the Author

PRO, Lavey GAA

Leave a Reply

Back to Top ↑

  • Bookings


    Postal Address
    Erins Own Lavey GAA, 56 Quarry Road, Maghera

    T: +44 (0) 28 7964 3202

    Centre Manager: Anne Graffin

    Chairman: Paddy Chivers

    Secretary: Helen O’Neill

    PRO: Dermot McPeake