Published on November 26th, 2013 | by Caoimhe O'Neill


Success at Scór na nÓg

Comhghairdeas to our ballad group who were crowned county champions on Sunday!  Many thanks to Katrina and Chloe for putting them through their paces and achieving such an amazing result.

Congratulations also go to Anna Rafferty and the Quiz team who were runners-up in their respective categories.

Lavey was represented in Scór na nÓg this year by 26 young club members who competed in all but two categories of the competition: ceili dancing, solo singing,  instrumental, recitation, ballad group and quiz.

From two nights of semi-finals, six acts qualified for the county final which was held in Glenullin on Sunday 24th November – Katie Taylor (solo singing), Caitriona Toner (recitation), Anna Rafferty (Recitation), Ballad group and two Quiz teams.  A full house was treated to a wonderful night’s entertainment and all will agree that the adjudicators’ jobs that evening were not easy!

The full results were as follows:

Ceili Dancing: 1- Glen, 2- Slaughtneil

Solo singing: 1 – Slaughtneil, 2 – Glenullin

Instrumental: 1 – Castledawson, 2- Glen

Recitation: 1- Glen, 2- Lavey

Ballad Group: 1- Lavey, 2-Glen

Leíriú: 1- Swatragh, 2- Slaughtneil

Set dancing: 1-Glen, 2-Glenllin

Quiz: 1- Glenullin, 2- Lavey


Congratulations to all involved: competitors, mentors, parents and supporters.

The Ulster Semi-Final will be held in Glenswilly, Co. Donegal on Friday 13th December – Ádh mór to our girls and all the Derry representatives for the semi-final.

Recitation winner Meabh McGirr (Glen) and Runner-up Anna Rafferty (Lavey) pictured with county officials. (Photo: Danny O’Kane)

Ballad Group winners Emma Scullion, Hannah Taylor, Clare Madden, Annie McGurk and Katie Taylor (Lavey) pictured with county officials. (Photo: Danny O’Kane)


About the Author

Cultural Officer, Lavey GAA

Leave a Reply

Back to Top ↑

  • Bookings


    Postal Address
    Erins Own Lavey GAA, 56 Quarry Road, Maghera

    T: +44 (0) 28 7964 3202

    Centre Manager: Anne Graffin

    Chairman: Paddy Chivers

    Secretary: Helen O’Neill

    PRO: Dermot McPeake