Published on December 13th, 2012 | by Edelle Henry


Lavey ‘Legends’ Honoured

Congratulations to two former Lavey GAC stars’; Ollie Collins and Henry Downey who have been named on the Ulster GAA Writters’ Jubilee hurling and football teams respectively.

The Silver Jubilee Banquet was held at the Great Northern Hotel, Bundoran on Friday night.  A team was selected from the Ulster GAA Writers’ Association monthly and annual winners over the last 25 years, and both Lavey players’ rightly made the final selection.

Downey was named in his customary centre-back position amongst other Derry football greats’ Kieran McKeever and Anthony Tohill, while Ollie Collins was the only Derry player to be selected on the Silver Jubilee Hurling team.

Congratulations to both Henry and Ollie from all associated with Lavey GAA.
Jubilee Hurling team – N Keith (Down); Paddy Braniff (Down), D McKinley (Antrim), D Donnelly (Antrim); Gary O’Kane (Antrim), N McManus (Antrim), C Herron (Antrim); P McKillen (Antrim), O Collins (Derry); L Watson (Antrim), T McNaughton (Antrim), Gregory O’Kane (Antrim); N Sands (Down), C Barr (Antrim), O McFetridge (Antrim).

Jubilee Football team – F McConnell (Tyrone); K McKeever (Derry), B Owens (Fermanagh), C Gormley (Tyrone); K Lacey (Donegal), H Downey (Derry), K McGeeney (Armagh); A Tohill (Derry), P McGrane (Armagh); B Dooher (Tyrone), G Blaney (Down), S Cavanagh (Tyrone); M Linden (Down), P Canavan (Tyrone). O McConville (Armagh).

About the Author

PRO, Lavey GAA

Leave a Reply

Back to Top ↑

  • Bookings


    Postal Address
    Erins Own Lavey GAA, 56 Quarry Road, Maghera

    T: +44 (0) 28 7964 3202

    Centre Manager: Anne Graffin

    Chairman: Paddy Chivers

    Secretary: Helen O’Neill

    PRO: Dermot McPeake