Skip to content

Hurling – Indifferent Fifties

The fifties were indifferent years, for hurling, not only in Lavey, but also in the county. Once again most of the teams faded out leaving no opportunity for an organised league to the detriment of those who did participate and the game in general. While no records of Championship winners throughout the fifties are available, Lavey did compete most years against St. Finbarrs in a kind of unofficial championship. In an effort to maintain interest and enthusiasm for hurling within the club, regular day trips were organised to venues like Cushendall, Loughgiel, Cushendun, Carnlough etc., the most famous of which were the annual Easter Sunday trips. Apart from the outing these consisted of a match against one of the traditional ‘Glens’ teams, with a ceili to finish off the day. Lavey next recorded championship success was in 1962, but is no record of any further successes during the sixties.

Lavey Hurles of the Late 50's
Lavey Hurlers of the Late 50’s and Early 60’s Period

Back Row: L. to R. – Jim Moore, Johnny O’Neill, Dan McMullan, Leo Shaw, Seamus Young, Sean Boyle, Murty Young, Tommy Doherty, Eamon Higgins, Frank Shaw.
Front Row: L. to R. Seamus Duffy, Willie O’Neill, Colm Higgins, Gerry McCrystal, Jim McAtamney, Francis Magill, Willie Dorrity, Mick O’Neill, Frank Smith, James O’Neill.

Leave a Reply