Published on August 4th, 2014 | by Edelle Henry


Championship Win for Senior Footballers

Well done to our senior football team who defeated Foreglen in the opening round of the Senior Football Championship on Saturday on a scoreline of Lavey 2-11 Foreglen 0-11.

Playing with a fierce wind in what was winter-like conditions, Foreglen got off to the better start and lead by 0-9 to 0-3 at half time, all Lavey’s scores coming from the boot of Anthony McGurk (2 frees).

The second half was much more positive from the Erins Own men; Anthony McGurk converted a further three free kicks to pull the scoring difference back to 3 points while Niall Toner, Damian Chivers and Ciaron O’Boyle (45) added points to level the game. Kevin McCloy, Shane Lagan and Colm Murphy came to grips with the Forglen attack, holding them scoreless in the second half of playing time, while Lavey substitues Sam Dodds, Eamonn McGill and Brendan Laverty all made a positive impact on the game. Lavey had an opportunity to end the contest in the final few minutes of playing time as they were awarded a free kick within range, however Ciaron O’Boyle was unable to convert the kick which was from a tight angle and this forced the game into extra time.

Lavey continued where they left off in added time with Anthony McGurk and Liam Murphy kicking impressive scores from play. Two goals then put the game beyond doubt; a high ball by Liam Murphy was guided into the net by the fist of Diaman Chivers while for the second goal, youngster Eamonn McGill produced the finish following a nice passage of play involving Brendan Laverty and Sam Dodds.

This was a tough encounter as expected and the Lavey management will be pleased with the character shown by the panel of players to recover from a slow start and go on to record a convincing win. Lavey now face Magherafelt in the next round of the Championship in two weeks time. Date and venue to be decided. Best of luck to the team and management.

Team; Ciaron O’Boyle (0-1 45), Shane Lagan, Kevin McCloy, Sean Toner, Paddy Dillon, Colm Murphy, Colm Dillon, Kevin O’Neill, Damian Chivers (1-1), Ryan Farren, Anthony McGurk (0-7, 5 f), Liam Murphy (0-1), Chrissy Henry, Sean Conway, Niall Toner (0-1).
Subs used; Sam Dodds for Colm Dillon, Kevin Rafferty for Sean Conway, Eamonn McGill (1-0) for Sean Toner, Brendan Laverty for Chrissy Henry, James McQuaid for Niall Toner,

About the Author

PRO, Lavey GAA

Leave a Reply

Back to Top ↑

  • Bookings


    Postal Address
    Erins Own Lavey GAA, 56 Quarry Road, Maghera

    T: +44 (0) 28 7964 3202

    Centre Manager: Anne Graffin

    Chairman: Paddy Chivers

    Secretary: Helen O’Neill

    PRO: Dermot McPeake