Published on January 14th, 2013 | by Edelle Henry


Annual AGM

The annual AGM was held at the Lavey Termoneeny Centre on Sunday 13th January.  The event commenced with a minutes silence, held in commemoration of all deceased club members.  Sean McPeake, Joe McGurk, Caoimhe O’Neill and Eileen Downey then gave a brief account of activities over the past year, both on and off the pitch, before Martin Convery presented a detailed breakdown of the yearly accounts.

The club committee, members and wider community must be highly commended for the healthy financial state of club affairs, particularly in the current economic climate.  However; with increasing energy bills, projected necessary maintenance plans and a drive to be self sustainable (no longer dependant on funding bodies) over the next year, all members were urged to be cautious -the club cannot afford to rest on its laurels, but must strive ‘onwards and upwards’.

An emphasis was placed on the importance of ‘Club Lavey’ which was at the forefront in the drive to provide our state of the art facilities and continues to be a vital source of funds to ensure the ongoing survival of our club.  All club members in attendance were encouraged to commit to a monthly direct debit and to encourage other parents/members/wider community to do likewise.  Club Lavey membership guarantees entry to our monthly club draw, as well as offering benefits in terms of reduced rates for gym membership.  Most important of all is the knowledge that you are playing an important role in the future development of Lavey GAA and our local community. Make the difference, be part of it…

Election of new club delegates is as follows;


Club Presidents Colm Mulholland, Tommy Doherty, Pat Mc Cloy and Fr Paddy Baker
Chairman Seamus Downey
Vice Chairman Paul Birt
Secretary Sean Mc Peake
Asst. Secretary Shauna Mc Crystal
Treasurer Martin Convery
Asst Treasurer Fergal Mc Nally
PRO Edelle Henry
Registrar Eileen Downey
Insurance Officer Paddy Dillon
Scór Officer Caoimhe O Neill
Hurling Co-ordinator Joe Mc Gurk
Football Co-ordinator Seamus Downey
Child Protection Officers Joe Mc Gurk and Jeanette Mc Cann

We wish the new committee continued success for the year 2013.

About the Author

PRO, Lavey GAA

Leave a Reply

Back to Top ↑

  • Bookings


    Postal Address
    Erins Own Lavey GAA, 56 Quarry Road, Maghera

    T: +44 (0) 28 7964 3202

    Centre Manager: Anne Graffin

    Chairman: Paddy Chivers

    Secretary: Helen O’Neill

    PRO: Dermot McPeake